Our People

Maccabi South Africa is managed and staffed by a dedicated team of volunteers and one full time employee, comprising skilled administrators, managers and coaches who each bring extensive knowledge and experience acquired in their professional lives to the organisation.

The team has strong bonds based on a love for Israel and a passion for sport. Some members are accomplished sportspersons who have competed at the Maccabiah, some still compete in their chosen sports, while others are ardent sports fans.

Maccabi SA, like its counterparts across the world, is driven by a powerful spirit of community service and a desire to help people of all ages get active, whether it’s in social, recreational or competitive sport.

Senior office bearers

  • Mervyn Tankelowitz President

    1985: E Tvl Maccabi Executive
    1991: Chairman Maccabi SA Bowls
    1992: Maccabi SA Executive
    1993 Games: SA Bowls Manager
    1997, ‘01, ‘05 Games: Team SA Assistant General Manager
    1998-2007: Vice Chair, Maccabi SA
    2003 Pan Am Games: SA Head of Delegation
    2007-2010: Chairman, Maccabi SA
    2009 Games: Team SA General Manager
    2010: President, Maccabi SA
    2000-2013: MWU International Sports Committee
    2000-present: Yakir Commitee
    2005-present: IJSHOF Commitee
    2013: MWU Games Committee
    2013: Yakir Award winner
    2017: Honorary Vice President MWU
  • Clifford Garrun Chairman

    1973 Games: Junior Swimmer
    2007-8: Junior Cricket Convenor
    2009 Games: Games Committee, Masters Swimmer
    2010-present: Chairman, Maccabi SA
    2013 Games: SA Deputy Head of Delegation, Masters Swimmer
    2015 European Games: SA Head of Delegation, Masters Swimmer
  • Desmond Hyman Vice-Chairman

    2009: Swimming Convenor
    2010-present: Vice Chairman, Maccabi SA
    2013 Games: SA Head of Delegation
  • Leslie Cohen Treasurer

    1995: Vice Chairman, Maccabi Gauteng Golf
    1998: Chairman, Maccabi Gauteng Golf
    1999: Vice Chairman, Maccabi SA Golf
    2004-2013: Chairman, Maccabi SA Golf
    2004: Golf Convenor
    2005, ‘09, ’13 Games: Team SA Golf Manager
    2007 Pan Am: SA Head of Delegation, Golf Manager, Golfer
    2009 Games: Treasurer, SA Games Committee
    2009-present: Treasurer, Maccabi SA
    2014-present: President, Maccabi SA Golf
    2017 Games: SA Head of Delegation

EXECUTIVE committee

Professional staff

  • Jarred Gronemann Sports Director

    Jarred was appointed Maccabi SA Sports Director in July 2018. He holds a BCOM Degree in Sport Management from RAU. Jarred has been involved in Sports and eventing for over 20 years. He seeks to continually engage with the SA Jewish community in expanding Maccabi SA’s activities and events. He is passionate about Israel, an avid sports fan, enjoys spending time with his family and partaking in outdoor activities.


Maccabi Western Province is a sub-committee of Maccabi South Africa. Based in Cape Town, this team of volunteers, supported by dedicated and enthusiastic parents, continues to achieve excellent results through the delivery of a successful sports and recreational programme for all ages.

Chairman: Ronen Cohen

Vice-Chairman: Gina Isserow

Secretary: Vanessa Arelisky

Treasurer: David Silverman

Committee: Vanessa Arelisky, Ronen Cohen, Gina Isserow, David King, David Silverman

Sports Convenors

Each Maccabi SA sport is headed up by a Sports Convenor. Their role is twofold: to organise and manage a local programme of events, and to select and manage team(s) and/or individuals to compete at the Maccabiah and other Regional Games. Maccabi SA’s Convenors are passionate, dedicated volunteers whose tireless efforts make a valuable contribution to our sporting community.

Click here to view Maccabi SA Sports Convenors  cat-arrow

Past Chairmen

1950-1958 Ian Maltz 1982-1987 George Mendelsohn
1958-1963 Alf Blumberg 1987-1992 Natie Liberman
1963-1967 Ian Maltz 1992-1993 Issy Bacher
1967-1972 Louis Gecelter 1993-1997 Jeanne Futeran
1972-1975 Arthur Goldman 1998-2002 Abe (Butch) Blacher
1975-1979 Wilfred Lissack 2002-2007 Raymond Hack
1979-1982 Monty Manoim 2007-2010 Mervyn Tankelowitz