South Africa first sent a swimmer to the 1935 Maccabiah and has competed at every Games since, excluding 1985 and 1989. Team SA won their first medal in 1950 and has performed extremely well to date, winning many medals in both individual and relay events. Carmel Goodman, who won two gold medals in 1973, would have been a certain selection for the 1972 Olympics had SA been able to compete. Shireen Sapiro proudly represented South Africa at the 2013 Maccabiah in the inaugural Paralympic category.

Incumbent Maccabi SA Chairman Cliff Garrun is an accomplished swimmer, having competed at three Maccabiah (1973, 2009 and 2013) winning a total of 10 medals. In a proud moment in 2009, Cliff and daughter Kim both won swimming medals, including a further five medals for Cliff and two for Kim at the 2015 European Maccabi Games in Berlin. In the Pan American Games, Theodore Yach won three medals at the 2007 Games in Buenos Aires.


Maccabi SA plans to send individuals with qualifying times across Junior, Open and Masters age groups to the 2017 Games. The Maccabi SA Swimming Convenor and plans for 2016 will be announced in due course.

Junior Swimming – Lisa Heilbron:┬álisa@freezacino.com


Processed with MOLDIV